@Jan-Buriánek said:
That is really unfortunate.
The popup window is already the confirmation step. You first have to tap the "Discard" button and then the red "Discard" confirmation button, as shown in the screenshot.
No, this is not it. I've seen that popup OP mentions before, too. It says something like "Do you still want to keep tracking?". Appears out of nowhere, and does not give a second chance - one accidental touch on the screen and it discards the whole track without user ever aiming to discard or save it.
It may be bug. If it's a feature, it's really bad one, and should at least require confirmation in case of choosing "discard" option here.